Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final – Wednesday 18th April 2018

April 24, 2018 News Reports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final – Wednesday 18th April 2018




Shelbourne Cup Winners

Kylemore College came from a goal down to beat the reigning champions Larkin Community College thanks to second half goals from substitutes Dane Brennan and Karl Delaney in last Wednesday’s Shelbourne Cup final at the SCC Sports Grounds in Terenure.

With five minutes left on the clock Kylemore were trailing to a first half strike from Larkin’s Chris Cahill with the holders heading for a three in a row in the cup competition.

Brennan picked up the ball out on the right at the edge of the penalty box before unleashing a powerful low drive past Larkin’s goalkeeper Daniel Doyle to level the game.

The momentum was now firmly with Kylemore and with a minute of normal time left Brennan turned provider with a cross from the right which feel kindly for Delaney to tap home from five yards out to win the Shelbourne Cup for the Ballyfermot College.

Larkin, playing with a strong wind behind them in the first half, had a wonderul opportunity in the opening minute through Timmy Ziu however the striker’s shot was saved by Luke Kelly in the Kylemore goal.

Two minutes later Kylemore’s Cezar Valentin Mukariu calmly chipped the advancing Doyle only to see his effort cleared off the line. The reigning champions had chances from Jack Johnston, Chris Cahill and their captain Dennis Robo prior to Cahill’s strike for the Champions Avenue school.

Cahill, unmarked in the box, reacted first to a rebound after Kylemore failed to clear a Larkin corner to slot home from close range for a deserved lead midway through the first half.

Kylemore responded well after falling behind with Lee Clarke Raymond denied a certain equaliser with a super finger tip save from Doyle prior to Brian Coombes’ goal bound effort was blocked by Larkin’s Alan Curtis.

Aaron Byrne looked certain to equalise after cutting through Larkin’s defence only to blast his shot over the bar. On the stroke of half time Valentin Mukariu held his head in his hands after Doyle, who was outstanding between the posts, pulled off a fantastic save from the Larkin striker.

The Ballyfermot college kept pressing after the restart with Coombes effort saved by Doyle and their captain Nathan Ennis’ long range shot flying over the cross bar.

Throughout the final Larkin’s centre backs of Adam Uzell and Alan Curtis had a wonderful dual with Larkin’s front men of Valentin Mukariu and Brian Coombes.

While across the middle of the park Larkin’s Cian Mooney, Johnston and Robo battled it out for possession with Kylemore’s Nathan Ennis, Clarke Raymond and Kalim Ennis in a highly competitive final.

Larkin’s Ziu had a decent chance to double their lead against the run of play but the striker shot straight at Kelly. Delaney replaced Aaron Byrne seconds later Valentin Mukariu shot was cleared off the line by Uzell.

With time running out Kylemore finally made the break through courtesy of Brennan before sealing the win thanks to Delaney’s late strike to kick start the celebrations for the newly crowned champions.

Kylemore College: Luke Kelly; Micheal Devitt, Conor Byrne, Jimmy Ennis, Dillon Withero; Kalim Ennis, Nathan Ennis (capt), Lee Clarke Raymond, Aaron Byrne; Brian Coombes, Cezar Valentin Mukariu. Subs: Karl Delaney, Dane Brennan, Eoin O’Donnell.

Larkin Community College: Daniel Doyle; Devon Maher, Adam Uzell, Alan Curtis, Eddie Towell; Ciaran Mooney, Jack Johnston, Cian Mooney, Chris Cahill, Dennis Robo, Timmy Zui. Subs: Tony Kamara, Usman Jabboron, Jack Dempsey.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out