Home » Swimming » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Swimming Gala – Wednesday 2nd March, 2016

March 12, 2016 SCC Archive, Sports, Swimming Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Swimming Gala – Wednesday 2nd March, 2016


By Louise Browne

scc_swim_gala_02PRESENTATION COLLEGE, TERENURE AND LARKIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE successfully retained their overall Girls and Boys Schools titles at the recently held Swimming Gala in the Alsaa Club Swimming Pool at Dublin Airport.

Pres’ led by the influential Rachel Roe, who received the Herald Star of the Week accolade for her outstanding individual and team performance, powered her way to victory in the Junior Backstroke.

The Southside School claimed further individual gold medals through excellent swims from Layla Cherbatj (junior front crawl), Laura Kelliher, (junior breaststroke), Ellen O’Rahilly (intermediate backstroke), Sarah Saboui (intermediate front crawl), Trish Lee Cante (intermediate butterfly), and Hannah Reilly (minor front crawl).

The reigning Girls Schools champions also had a clean sweep of wins in the Minor, Junior and Intermediate Freestyle and Medley relays.

Reilly and Adrian Cahill excelled in both of the minor relays finishing ahead of Kylemore College and Larkin Community College in the freestyle final while getting the better of Larkin’s team of Kaitlyn Duffy, Jade Fagan, Francessa Magness and Rose Mesquite in the medley event.

Roe, Cherbatji, Kellliher and Kasey Murphy where simply unstoppablle in the Junior relays. Pres topped the podium with Kylemore College taking second ahead of Colaiste Eoin in the freestyle final before adding the medley title.

While O’Rahilly, Lee Cante, Saboui and Niamh Delmar claimed another relay double in the Intermediate races with wins over Larkin Community CollegeĀ in the freestyle and medlay finals.

In the Boys competiton Larkin Community College’s Toni Miller (intermediate butterfly), Brendan Mare (junior front crawl), Camil Gorka (junior backstroke), Callum Kiely (minor front crawl), Scott Hickey (minor breaststroke) and Christopher Duffy (minor backstroke) all won individual gold medals.

Larkin boys also had a clean sweep of wins in the Minor, Junior and Intemediate Relays. The champions avenue’s school’s minor boys team of Callum Kiely, Craig Byas, Jack Gavin and Scott Hickey won the freestyle and medley relays.

The Larkin junior swimmers of Brendan Mare, Camil Gorka, Adam Vzell, Asif Iqbal, Killian Kearns and Dylan Caffrey came out on top in the freestyle and medlay relay finals.

The north inner city school’s intermediate team of Toni Miller, Jordan Hutch, Denis Guizan and Ross Boylan were pushed all the way by Kylemore College’s team in exciting finales in the intermediate freestyle and medley races.

Other top individual performances of the day came from Sean Corcoran of Kylemore College who won the double capturing gold in the intermediate front crawl and intermediate breaststroke.

Colaiste Eoin had a brace of winners in Dimytri Bryaylo (junior breaststroke) and Guiseppe Lauriola (intermediate backstroke). With Francessa Magness and Kate Mierina winning a gold apiece for Larkin in the girls minor backstroke and intermediate breastroke finals and St Kevin’s Dean Rogers in the senior breaststroke.

Crumlin College walked away with the overall Senior title. Crumlin’s Gary Brady (backstroke), Sean Scott (front crawl), Brendan Gerathy (butterfly), Beatrice Fagan (backstroke), Fiona Tapley (front crawl), Emma Aylward (breaststroke) and Sofja Klimsina (butterfly) won individual titles.

Crumlin’s girls relay team made up of Klimsina, Aylward, Fagan and Fiona Tapley won both the freestyle and medlay relay finals. Crumlin added the boys medlay title with Gerathy, Brady, Scott and Jay Deighton with St Kevin’s College getting the better of Crumlin in the freestyle relay final.

Silver medal winners on the day where Larkin Community College’s Denise Hopkins, Rose Mesquite, Kate Mierina, Dylan Caffrey, Jordan Hutch and Toni Miller. Kylemore College’s Charlie Murray, Dylan Patchel, Dean Moore, Lee Donahoe, Jake Kealy, Molly Corrigan, and Abbey Corcoran.

Presentation Terenure’s Adria Cahill and Niamh Delmar, Colaiste Eoin’s Rebecca Dowling and Glen McGloubhyn of Cabra Community College. St Kevin’s Eva Madden, Mick Brophy, Dean Rogers, Aoibhinn Ryan and John Gill and Crumlin College’s Jay Deighton.

Bronze medals went to Larkin’s Paola Banola, Zoltan Kaldeas, Kaitlyn Duffy, Paola Banda and Shanice Rock. Colaiste Eoin’s Anthony Kelly, Dariusz Spik, Josh Byrne and Ciaran Kelly and Kylemore Colllege’s Molly Corrigan, Jake Gorman, Abbey Merrigan and Dylan Patchel.


Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out