Home » Soccer – Boys » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final – Wednesday 27th April, 2017

April 27, 2017 SCC Archive, Soccer - Boys, Sports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final – Wednesday 27th April, 2017





Report - CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final - Wednesday 27th April, 2017

Larkin Community College retained the Shelbourne Cup with a hard fought win in a competitive final against Coláiste Dhuláigh in yesterday’s decider held at the CDETB SCC Sports Grounds in Terenure.

Larkin’s mentor Nigel Delaney reflected on his senior team’s win after the final whistle “It’s great for the seniors to win, they’ve shown a great attitude and ability and have developed as a team from first year through to sixth year, I’m very proud of them”.

Larkin’s top scorer Dylan Kelly scored a brace with a goal in each half either side of Jonathan Anene’s strike before substitute Adam Uzell’s late goal put the game beyond Dhuláigh. Two well taken goals from Dhuláigh’s Christian O’Toole in the first half had twice cancelled out Larkin’s advantage leaving the game tied 2-2 at the break.

Larkin dominated possession after the restart but were denied a break through time after time as Dhuláigh’s goalkeeper Nathan Finn frustrated Larkin with an array of outstanding saves with a man of the match display between the posts.

However there was little Finn could do to deny Kelly his second of the day and with Dhuláigh chasing an equaliser Uzell’s sublime finish on the break late in the game sealed the win for the cup holders.

On a perfect pitch under an overcast sky Larkin thought they had taken the lead inside two minutes when Kelly found the net however the assistant referee judged Kelly offside in the build up to his goal. Three minutes later Kelly made no mistake when he latched onto the ball after a mix up between Dhuláigh’s left back Josh Tighe and Finn to tap home from close range.

Report - CDETB SCC Shelbourne Cup Final - Wednesday 27th April, 2017

Dhuláigh’s first opportunity came from their captain Jordan Darling’s wonderful free across the face of the goal mouth which just needed the slightest of touches for the equaliser however it evaded three Dhuláigh players in the penalty area.

Larkin’s Gerard Black, who excelled in his attacking midfield role, goal bound spectacular overhead kick was tipped over by Finn. A minute later Kelly’s strike came back off the base of the right hand post. Black was again denied a certain goal with an unbelievable finger tip save from Finn.

Minutes later Finn pulled off another excellent save after Kelly looked certain to double Larkin’s advantage. Finn’s quick thinking put Larkin on the backfoot Dhuláigh’s Wayne Manly pass landed at the feet of Christian O’Toole whose deflected shot looped over Larkin’s goalkeeper Karl Jordan into the net.

With half time looming Larkin scored their second when Jonathan Anene’s cross from out on the right deceived Finn at the near post. Dhuláigh response was swift O’Toole’s header from Than Hand’s corner was cleared off the line with the midfielder reacting the quickest to double his goal tally.

Larkin upped the tempo after the restart and controlled the majority of the possession with Black, Anene, Carl Poutch and Kelly at the heart of their attacking play while their captain Dean Carney was steadfast alongside Evan Smith in their defensive roles.

Black and Kelly could only look on in disbelief as Finn pulled off two more super saves to keep Dhuláigh in the game. Midway through the half Kelly got Larkin’s third after a mix up between Tighe and Shane Nolan, who failed to clear Black’s pass from midfield, which subsquently fell kindly for Kelly to slot home.

Larkin continued to press Dhuláigh with Finn again denying Kelly and Jordan Fox. With time running out Dhuláigh felt they had scored the equaliser through Hand but the striker was deemed offside before Uzell’s goal finally broke Dhuláigh’s heart in a hugely entertaining final.

Larkin Community College: Karl Jordan, Ross Boylan, Callum McGovern, Evan Smith, Dean Carney, Jonathan Anene, Carl Poutch, Conor Piggott, Gerard Black, Jordan Fox Dylan Kelly. Subs: Denis Robu, Adam Uzell.

Coláiste Dhuláigh: Nathan Finn, Josh Tighe, Shane Nolan, Wayne Manly, Dean Barrett, Josh Adamson, Jordan Darling, Paul Byrne, Christian O’Toole, Darren Byrne, Than Hand Subs: Troy Harris, Dylan McClure.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out