Home » Rounders » Recent Articles:

Report – Rounders Finals – Plunket College – Whitehall – Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

November 19, 2013 Rounders, SCC Archive Comments Off on Report – Rounders Finals – Plunket College – Whitehall – Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

Rounders Finals – Plunket College – Whitehall

Wednesday, May 19th, 2010

By Louise Browne



Finglas retained the Intermediate Rounders title after beating their school colleagues Coláiste Eoin in an all Dublin 11 affair in Wednesday’s SCC Rounders finals held in Plunket College on the Swords Road.

Needing six runs to win going into the third and final innings Finglas were quick off the mark through Michael Chabaski, Captain Sean Pouche, Seamus Doyle and Toby Chabaski.

rounders_04Anthony Philips levelled the game at 15-15 a piece before Doyle stepped up to bat. The Finglas student’s low drive brought home their captain Pouche to record a Finglas 16-15 victory.

In the red corner Finglas were pitted against Coláiste Eoin in the blue corner with their coach Ciara Smart, who won the MVP, keeping tabs on both teams throughout a tightly contested final.

Coláiste Eoin were first to bat in the three innings three out final and put a healthy six points on the score board before being run out, the best coming from James Kearns who scored a home run.

Finglas responded well and despite losing their first batsman Seamus Doyle before Stephen Gerathy’s high hit was plucked out of the sky by out fielder Jason Deegan and Anthony Philips being run out, they took a 9-6 lead into the second innings.

Eoin where put on the back foot when Deegan, Oskar Pietarzak and Michael Brady where quickly run out to finish their innings with a narrow 10-9 advantage. Finglas could only muster up a single score leaving the side’s tied 10-10 heading into the final phase.

Coláiste Eoin found their feet again with a home run from Pietarzak, following a wonderful out field hit from the Finglas student, to finish 15-10 to the good before their opponents saw out the game.


rounders_01In the junior final Coláiste Dhulaigh got the better of Cabra’s Coláiste Eanna 6-5 in an engaging final under blue skies while it wasn’t all disappointment for Cabra as Gerard O’Doherty was awarded the junior MVP.

Dhulaigh stepped up to bat knowing three runs would seal the win but Cabra had other ideas taking out John Darling and Mark Browne to hold their 5-3 advantage.

Moments later Cabra had a wonderful opportunity to win the game but Peter Walsh dropped a high ball before Dhulaigh’s captain Glen McCabe added a run.

With the game tied at 5-5 and two players out tensions were high before the smallest player on the Dhulaigh team Shelly Maughan stepped up to bat.

With Darren Cahalin on third base Maughan’s hit did just enough to see Cahalin home for the all important run to seal a one point victory for the Coolock School. Cabra were first to bat in the two innings final but failed to register any runs thanks to fine pitching and out field play from Dhulaigh, particularly McCabe and Jamie Andrews.

Dhulaigh scored three runs in their first innings thank to runs from Andrews, Mark Browne and McCabe.

Cabra found their feet in the second innings putting five runs on the score board; the pick of them was O’Doherty’s home run on the back of an excellent out field hit. But it was Dhulaigh who had the last say in an exciting junior final.


rounders_02Coláiste Eoin won their second piece of silverware when their minor team led by David Keenan along with a fantastic performance from MVP David Robinson overcame Coláiste Dhulaigh 8-6 in the minor rounders final.

The Finglas School held an 8-4 lead after their two innings while Dhulaigh knew five runs of their final innings would hand them the title. Eoin got off to the perfect start with pitcher Keenan catching Michaela O’Brien’s hit.

Moments later Dhulaigh’s captain Paul Duffy followed O’Brien into the dugout before Michaela McCarthy was brought home by an excellent hit and home run from Andrew McCabe leaving just two runs between the sides.

With two players out and trailing 8-6 Dhulaigh were living on the edge and were given a second lifeline when Eoin’s Daniel Cirpaci failed to hold Shannon Duffy’s high hit.

But there was nothing Dhulaigh could do when fine base play from Coláiste Eoin saw the Finglas School get their third player out, game over, minor title in the bag.

Eoin had put six runs on the score board in their first innings with Keenan, Robinson, Michaela Gaffney and Kelly Geoghegan leading the charge.

Dhulaigh cut the deficit to 6-4 through Duffy, Eric Meehan, Shannon Duffy and O’Brien prior to Harry Pike and Cirpaci runs in their second innings gave Coláiste Eoin an 8-4 lead.

Intermediate Winners Finglas
Sean Pouche (Capt), Anthony Philips, Seamus Doyle, Michael Chabasinski, Stephen Gerathy, Toby Chabasinski.

Intermediate Runners Up Coláiste Eoin
Paul Murphy (Capt), James Kearns, Oskar Pietarzak, Andrew O’Toole, Michael Brady, Jason Deegan.
MVP Ciara Smart

Junior Winners Coláiste Dhulaigh
Glen McCabe (Capt), Jamie Andrews, Mark Browne, Shauna Lyndon, Shelly Maughan, John Darling, Darren Cahalin, Declan Brennan

Junior Runners Up Coláiste Eanna, Cabra
Richard Judge, Mark O’Sullivan, Peter Walsh, Aaron O’Reilly, Gerard O’Doherty, Lauren Keenan, Alan O’Farrell, Adam Walsh.
MVP Gerard O’Doherty (Coláiste Eanna, Cabra)

Minor Winners Colaiste Eoin
David Keenan (Capt), Daniel Cirpaci, John Joe Keenan, Harry Pike, Colin Smart, Kelly Geoghegan, Michaela Gaffney, Darren Graham, David Robinson.

Minor Runners Up Coláiste Dhulaigh
Paul Duffy (Capt), Shannon Duffy, Michaela O’Brien, Ryan Andrews, Michaela McCarthy, Eric Meehan, Andrew McCabe.
MVP David Robinson (Coláiste Eoin)

Referees: Joan Hughes, Christy Hughes, Michael Gogan.

– Photos –

[ View the photo gallery of the event ]

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out