Home » Cross-Country » Recent Articles:

Report – Cross Country Championship – Wednesday 12th November, 2014

November 20, 2014 Cross-Country, SCC Archive, Sports Comments Off on Report – Cross Country Championship – Wednesday 12th November, 2014




Cross Country ChampionshipATHLETES were pushed to the limit as lashing rain and strong cross winds greeted participants from twelve schools at Dublin’s Phoenix Park to compete in last week’s CDETB SCC Cross Country competition.

Top individual performances came from Tiffany Heary, Jonathan Anene and Jessica Ziu all of Larkin Community College, Kylemore College’s Dylan Withero and Chloe Finn and Nahom Alem of Marino College who all claimed cross country titles.

Heary successfully retained the Intermediate Girls 1000 metre title ahead of Kylemore’s Alex Doyle and Larkin’s Jennifer Corrigan.  Anene ran an excellent race to win gold, having finished second last year, in the Junior Boys 1000 metre final.

Anene’s strong finish saw off the Minor Boy’s 2013 title holder Aaron Byrne of Kylemore College with Marino College’s Mark Ivanov taking bronze.

Ziu’s impressive run in the Minor Girl’s 1000 metre race, Colaiste Eoin’s Jasmine Thornton won silver and Larkin’s Biancia Lucaci took bronze, along with her fellow Larkin participants helped Larkin win the overall Girls School titles at Minor, Junior and Intermediate.

Kylemore’s Dylan Withero excelled in the Minor Boys 1000 metre final to finish ahead of Colaiste Dhulaigh’s Joe Collins and Larkin’s Dylan Caffery.

Chloe Finn added a second gold medal for Kylemore by winning the Junior Girls 1000 metre final ahead of her colleague Katie Reilly and Colaiste Dhulaigh’s Nicole Cooney.

In the Boys Intermediate 2000 metre final Marino’s Nahom Alem led from start to finish while Larkin’s Cian Dunne passed Colaiste Dhulaigh Ross Desmond with 50 metres to go to claim the silver medal.

Cross Country ChampionshipInchicore College dominated the Senior Boys 3000 metre final with Killian Reilly, who broke away in the final lap, crossing the winning line ahead of his colleagues Ryan Kiernan and Cian Griffin.

In the Senior Girls contest Crumlin College’s Niamh O’Connor ran a controlled race to win gold ahead of Kylemore’s Natasha Finn and Inchicore’s Jennifer Eldamasi.

On the school and college front the girls of Larkin Community College won the treble taking home the Minor, Junior and Intermediate titles.

Kylemore College boys did the double winning the Minor and Intermediate categories while Larkin Community won the boys’ Junior title.

In the Senior competition Inchicore College were unstoppable as they captured both the boys and girls college honours to conclude another successful CDETB SCC Cross Country Championship.

Overall School and College Results:

Minor Girls:

1st Larkin Community College

2nd Kylemore College

3rd Colaiste Eoin

Minor Boys:

1st Kylemore College

2nd Larkin Community College

3rd Colaiste Dhulaigh

Junior Girls:

1st Larkin Community College

2nd Ringsend College

3rd Marino College

Junior Boys:

1st Larkin Community College

2nd Colaiste Dhulaigh

3rd Kylemore College

Intermediate Girls:

1st Larkin Community College

2nd Kylemore College

Intermediate Boys:

1st Kylemore College

2nd Larkin Community College

3rd Colaiste Dhulaigh

Senior Girls:

1st Inchicore CFE

Senior Boys:

1st Inchicore CFE

2nd Crumlin College

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out