Home » Boxing » Recent Articles:

Report – Annual Novice Boxing Championships Finals – Wednesday 25th March, 2015

March 29, 2015 Boxing, SCC Archive, Sports Comments Off on Report – Annual Novice Boxing Championships Finals – Wednesday 25th March, 2015

CDETB SCC Annual Novice Boxing Championships Finals 2015

By Louise Browne

Wednesday 25th March, 2015


Boxing Championships Finals-Wednesday 25th March, 2015

ANOTHER slice of history was in the making as Colaiste Dhulaigh won their 36th consecutive Crowley Cup at the CDETB Annual Novice Boxing Championships finals on Wednesday held at the National Boxing Stadium.

It was also fitting that the home of Irish boxing should bid farewell to Dhulaigh’s long standing coach and mentor Joe Vaughan who has been in the Coolock School’s corner for the last thirty eight years, a remarkable feat in itself.

I don’t lose my enthusiasm for this, I’ll miss it but it was a great afternoon, we had a great squad and we’ll always be there.  I love the boxing and I’m going to miss this” said an emotional Vaughan.

On Dhulaigh’s successes throughout his reign and his love of the sport Vaughan added “It’s great it really is.  I have the same enthusiasm today as I did in the first win and that rubs off me onto the boxers and its good news going back to Coolock for everyone involved”.

Dhulaigh had ten points to spare over their nearest rivals St Kevin’s College, with Kylemore College finishing in third place after the 19 competitive bouts were concluded. The Northside School’s day of celebration was completed when Baran Salmon was awarded the Best Boxer of the Tournament.

Salmon faced Dean McDonnell of Kylemore College midway through the tournament with Salmon dictating the pace from the outset forcing his opponent into a standing count in the opening round.

Left punch landed

Boxing Championships Finals-Wednesday 25th March, 2015Despite being on the back front for the next two rounds of the three rounds encounter McDonnell never threw in the towel but it was the Dhulaigh student who came out on top on a unanimous decision much to the delight of Vaughan.

Dhulaigh registered six more wins on the day. Sean McKevitt was clinical in stopping Kylemore’s Adam Brennan in the first round while Luke Reddy, Anthony McDonald, Jonathan O’Connor, Alan Mitchell and James Fetherston all had impressive wins inside the ring.

Other stand out wins on the day went to Kylemore’s David Wall, Zach Ward and Michael Kinsella. St Kevin’s notched up six wins with fine showings from Luke Barry, Curtis Stafford, Muhammed Beki, Nathan Duggan and Ashford Coughlan along with Alex Fraut of Marino College and Colaiste Eoin’s Ciaran Collins.

Kylemore College’s David Wall and Zach Ward opened the championships with back to back unanimous wins against Dhulaigh’s David Webster and Dinny Collins.  The Coolock School registered their first victories of the day through Luke Reddy and Sean McKevitt, who stopped his opponent in the opening round.

Alex Fraut, Marino College’s sole representative, powered his way to victory stopping Kylemore’s Shane Carolan in the first round of their clash.

Dhulaigh extended their overall lead to four points over Kylemore College with further wins from Anthony McDonald and Jonathan O’Connor against Colaiste Eoin’s Ciaran Kelly and Morris Nyrubi of Kylemore College.

Kylemore’s Michael Kinsella was always in control against Dhulaigh’s Martin O’Dwyer with Kinsella forcing his opponent into a standing count in the second round before the referee stopped the contest moments later.

Colaiste Eoin’s Collins pairing of Ciaran and David were next up in the ring.  Ciaran Collins and Dhulaigh’s Dean Scott entertained the watching crowd from the bell with Collins’ strength seeing him to victory.


Boxing Championships Finals-Wednesday 25th March, 2015Meanwhile his colleague David Collins was beaten by Dhulaigh’s Alan Mitchell.  St Kevin’s boxers competed in the final seven bouts, winning six with impressive showings.  Luke Barry dispatched Dhulaigh’s Sean McCormack in the first round followed by Curtis Stafford’s win over Nathan Kiernan of Colaiste Eoin.

St Kevin’s only loss came as Dhulaigh’s James Fetherston stopped Dermot Cooney in the first round.  The Southside School responded with four wins on the trot courtesy of Muhammed Beki, Nathan Hamiliton, Nathan Duggan and Ashford Coughlan against Dhulaigh’s Darren Neville, Sean Mangan, Than Hand and Sean Flood.

But nothing could take away from Colaiste Dhulaigh and in particular Joe Vaughan’s farewell day as they headed back to Coolock with their name engraved, yet again, on the Crowley Cup for a remarkable 36th successive year.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out