Home » Athletics » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Track & Field Championships – Friday 13th May 2016

May 20, 2016 Athletics, SCC Archive, Sports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Track & Field Championships – Friday 13th May 2016

CDETB SCC Track & Field Championships 2016 – Friday 13th May, 2016.

By Louise Browne

Presentation College Terenure retained the Hannigan Cup for best all-round Girls school with Pres’ student Rhasidat Adeleke being awarded the female ‘Athlete of the Meet’ for the second year running for her top class endeavours.

In the boys competition Larkin Community College were simply unstoppable walking away, yet again, with the Robinson Cup for the best all-round Boys school after last Friday’s CDETB SCC Track and Field Championships held at Morton Stadium, Santry.

In glorious sunshine athletes from Presentation College Terenure, Larkin Community College, Kylemore College, Marino College, Colaiste Dhulaigh, Colaiste Eoin, Cabra Community College, Margaret Aylward Community College, Plunket College, Ringsend College and St Kevin’s College competed against each other for individual and schools honours.

Pres’ Rhasidat Adeleke topped the podium after she ran the perfect race to win the junior 100m final, earlier in the day Adeleke won the junior long jump title, prior to receiving the ‘Athlete of the Meet’ accolade.

Other individual gold medalists from Pres’ included Katie McCaughey minor 800m, Maedbh Corcoran junior 800m, Elizabeth Manning intermediate 1500m, Anastacia Cepoi intermediate long jump, Ella McCaughey minor high jump and Latifat Adeleke intermediate shot putt.

Pres’ ticked off all the remaining boxes with another triple win in the girls’relay finals. The successful minor team made up of twin sisters Ella McCaughey and Katie McCaughey, Mella Foyle and Sophie Patchell lifted the O’Dea Cup.

In the junior relay final Rhasidat Adeleke was joined by Saoirse Hoban, Wuraola Busari and Kathy Murphy to win the Chilean Cup. With the intermediate team of Rachel Tobin, Sarah Stenberg, Bronwyn Pugh and Anastascia Cepoi winning the Clampett Shield.

Larkin girls took home two gold medals courtesy of Vasi Borisova minor cricket-ball and Samantha Kerrigan minor shot along side silver medal winners Nadina Bowes, Daria Lawlor, Kieva Doyle, Rose Mequita, Tinu Omotinuagewa, and Michelle Fadina prior to winning further silver medals by finishing second in all three of the girls relay finals.

Other stand out girls performances on the day went to gold medalists Victoria Nkarn intermediate 100m and Alex Doyle intermediate 400m of Kylemore College, Laura Young junior shot putt of Margaret Alyward and Colaíste Eoin’s Aaliyah Aaron minor 100m.

And silver medalists Katelyn Cumburton of St Kevin’s College, Colaíste Dhulaigh’s Kristina Baranova, Sarah Maher of Ringsend College, Marino College’s Diane Roxanna, Jodie Reid of Margaret Alyward and Kylemore College duo Danielle Doyle and Kate Moss.

Larkin’s strength in the field events paid dividends for the Champions Avenue school with seven of its nine individual boys gold medals coming on the back of winning performances in the high jump, long jump, shot putt and javelin.

Larkin’s gold medalists were Jonathan Arene, who also won the intermediate 1500m title, Emmanuel Clement, Jonathan Arene, Thomas Murphy, Gabriel Aghinita, Jordan Fox, Kameron Ledwidge, Juinhui Ren and Callum Kiely who claimed gold in the minor boys 1500m final.

The north inner city school also held onto their minor relay title with Clement, Kiely, Cian Ledwidge and Kane Darcuy winning the O’Dwyer Cup.

The male ‘Athlete of the Meet’ went to Edward Filip of Kylemore College who ran two great races to win the 100m and 400m minor boys finals. Kylemore College pushed Larkin all the way winning seven gold medals, four on the track, three in field events.

Kylemore’s winning performances came from Edward Filip, Lee Carrie, Craig Mooney, Cain Ledwidge, Quintan Doyle and last year’s male ‘Athlete of the Meet’ Cezar Valentin Murariu.

The Ballyfermot College also won two of the three boys relay finals with their junior team of Cezar Valentin Murariu, David Wall, Aaron Byrne and Nathan Ennis winning the Bracken Cup.  While their intermediate quartet of Charlie Murray, Craig Mooney, Azees Fetuisa and Lee Carrie lifted the Rank Xerox Cup.

Silver medalists winners included Colaíste Dhulaigh’s Sean Nolan and Darren Boyne, Colaíste Eoin’s Dariusz Spik, Lee Duddy and Giovanni Pola Kylemore College’s Conor Roache, Nathan Ennis, Karlo Kykuzovic, Aaron Byrne, Kamilm Ennis and Sean Monks.

Marino College’s Andrei Beniadakis and George Arteni, Larkin’s Kane Darcuy, Cain Ledwidge, Callum Kiely, Christopher Duffy and Szymon Rycek, Cabra Community College’s Stefan Muraru, Ameeen Djahraovi of Plunket College and Craig Johnston of St Kevin’s College.

Pres’ beat Larkin, last year’s winner of the Female Millennium Relay, to win the Berne Cup. Kylemore College retained the MS Branch Cup when they won the Male Millennium Relay before lifting the Gabrielle Coates Trophy after winning the Staff Relay.


Presentation College Terenure


Larkin Community College


Rhasidat Adeleke

Presentation College Terenure


Edward Filip

Kylemore College


Presentation College Terenure


Kylemore College


Kylemore College


Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out