Home » Sports » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Swimming Gala – Wednesday 7th March, 2018

March 13, 2018 2017 - 2018, News Reports, Sports, Swimming Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Swimming Gala – Wednesday 7th March, 2018

By Louise Browne

Report - CDETB SCC Swimming Gala - Wednesday 7th March, 2018Presentation College, Terenure and Larkin Community College successfully retained their respective overall Girls and Boys Schools titles at last week’s Swimming Gala held in the ALSAA Club Swimming Pool at Dublin Airport.

Pres’ faced tough opposition from students representing Larkin Community College, Coláiste Eoin, Clonturk Community College, Cabra Community College and Kylemore College in the individual girls competition.

Reigning junior backstroke champion Pres’ Rachel Roe added a first intermediate gold medal to her collection of minor and junior titles after moving up in age level. Roe’s fellow student Abby Ryan, the minor backstroke holder, swam to gold in the junior girls backstroke.

Clonturk Community College’s Robyn Clifford O’Reilly claimed the minor girls backstroke title. Pres’ dominated the freestyle category with a hat-trick of victories courtesy of excellent performances from Sarah Brady (minor), Hannah Reilly (junior) and Layla Cheabatji (intermediate).

In the intermediate breastroke Pres’ Laura Kelliher won gold on the back of winning last year’s junior breastroke title. Clonturk’s Neveah Kenny captured the minor breastroke with Larkin’s Rose Mesquita claiming the junior breastroke title.

In the senior girls competition Crumlin College’s Emma Martin secured back to back gold medals in the freestyle and breastroke finals. While Alanna McPortland of Rathmines College sealed double gold in winning the senior backstroke and senior butterfly finals.

In the girls relay competition Pres’ won four of a possible six titles up for grabs. The Southside college’s minor, junior and intermediate relay winning teams consisted of Sarah Brady, Aoibh Rush, Holly Maher, Bianca Pamfil, Hannah Reilly, Saagrika Qures, Abby Ryan, Eve Rush, Layla Scerbatji, Rachel Roe and Laura Kelliher.

Clonturk Community College retained the minor medley title with super swims from
Jessie Geoghan Wogan, Neveah Kenny, Cait Rouse and Lily Wareham. Larkin Commmunity College’s quartet of Rose Mequita, Sunna Begum, Suvd Vlambayer and Diana Heisovescu won the junior relay medley title for the north inner city school.

It was double delight for Rathmines College with their relay team of Alanna McPortland, Megha Kumari, Louise Dickson and Kevwe Uyovbisere winning the freestyle and medlay senior girls finals.

In the individual boys pursuits Larkin Community College’s Kamil Gorka and Adam Uzell were the champions avenue’s school’s stand out performers on the day. Gorka retained his intermediate butterfly title while Uzell won intermediate freestyle gold.

Gorka and Uzell were joined by Mario George and Aivis Kearns to win the intermediate boys freestyle relay. Larkin’s other individual gold medalists included Kyle Hayden (minor backstroke), Craig Byas (junior backstroke) and Scott Hickey (junior freestyle).

Coláiste Eoin’s Dimystri Brykayle won the intermediate breastroke following on from winning last year’s junior breakstroke. Brykayle colleagues Daniel Klava (minor freestyle) and Dylan Doyle (minor breastroke) also secured gold medals for the Finglas school.

Cabra Community College’s duo of Sean Lawlor (intermediate backstroke) and Callum Frawley (junior breastroke) took home a gold medal apiece for the Dublin 7 school.

Rathmines College dominated the senior boys individual competition with Lucas Villalva winning back to back gold in the backstroke and breastroke finals. Villalva’s teammate Michael Pitts also captured the double in winning the freestyle and butterfly titles.

Kylemore College’s Jake Kelly, Brendan O’Toole, Brandon Harwood and Aran Corish won the junior boys freestyle relay title for the Ballyfermot school. In the minor relay medley final it was Coláiste Eoin’s team of Jason Duddy, Keith Smith, Jamie Scurry and Will Prendergast who lifted the Perpetual Shield.

Crumlin College’s senior boys relay team of Jonathan Kearns, Connor McGrail, Dean McLoughlin and Adrian Rucka were simply unbeatable in winning both the freestyle and medley titles.

Swimming Results 2018
Overall Schools Winners

Girls – Presentation College, Terenure.
Boys – Larkin Community College.
Girls Plc – Rathmines College.
Boys Plc – Crumlin College.

Girls Individual Winners

Minor Backstroke winner – Robyn Clifford O’Reilly, Clonturk Community College.
Junior Backstroke winner – Abby Ryan, Presentation College, Terenure.
Intermediate Backstroke winner – Rachel Roe, Presentation College, Terenure.
Senior Backstroke winner – Alanna McPortland, Rathmines College.
Minor Freestyle winner – Sarah Brady, Presentation College, Terenure.
Junior Freestyle winner – Hannah Reilly, Presentation College, Terenure.
Intermediate Freestyle winner – Layla Cheabatji, Presentation College, Terenure.
Senior Freestyle winner – Emma Martin, Crumlin College.
Minor Breastroke winner – Neveah Kenny, Clonturk Community College.
Junior Breastroke winner – Rose Mesquita, Larkin Community College.
Intermediate Breastroke winner – Laura Kelliher, Presentation College, Terenure.
Senior Breastroke winner – Emma Martin, Crumlin College.
Senior Butterfly winner – Alanna McPortland, Rathmines College.

Boys Individual Winners

Minor Breastroke winner – Kyle Hayden, Larkin Community College.
Junior Breaststoke winner – Craig Byas, Larkin Community College.
Intermediate Breastroke winner – Sean Lawlor, Cabra Community College.
Senior Breastroke winner – Lucas Villalva, Rathmines College.
Minor Freestyle winner – Daniel Klava, Coláiste Eoin.
Junior Freestyle winner – Scott Hickey, Larkin Community College.
Intermediate Freestyle winner – Adam Uzell, Larkin Community College.
Senior Freestyle winner – Michael Pitts, Rathmines College.
Minor Breastroke winner – Dylan Doyle, Coláiste Eoin.
Junior Breastroke winner – Callum Frawley, Cabra Community College.
Intermediate Breastroke winner – Dimystri Brykayle, Coláiste Eoin.
Senior Breastroke winner – Lucas Villalva, Rathmines College.
Intermediate Butterfly winner – Kamil Gorka, Larkin Community College.
Senior Butterfly winner – Michael Pitts, Rathmines College.

Girls Relay winners:

Minor Freestyle, Junior Freestyle, Intermediate Freestyle, Intermediate Medley – Presentation College, Terenure.
Minor Medley – Clonturk Community College.
Junior Medley – Larkin Community College winners Junior Medley.
Senior Freestyle, Senior Medley – Rathmines College.

Boys Relay winners:

Junior Freestyle – Kylemore College.
Junior Medley – Coláiste Eoin.
Intermediate Freestyle – Larkin Community College.
Intermediate Medley – Larkin Community College.
Senior Freestyle, Senior Medley – Crumlin College.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out