Home » SCC Archive » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Bohemian Shield Final – Wednesday 26th April, 2017

April 27, 2017 SCC Archive, Soccer - Boys, Sports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Bohemian Shield Final – Wednesday 26th April, 2017





Larkin Community College won their ninth consecutive Bohemian Shield, an historic feat by the Champions Avenue school who have dominated the competition for almost a decade. The reigning champions were made to work extremly hard for their victory by a talented Kylemore team who can feel somewhat aggrieved by the final score line.

Larkin’s hero was Tony Kamara with a first half brace while Larkin’s inspirational captain Keith Reegan’s goal, with the last kick of the game, finally saw off a brave Kylemore side who left everything on the pitch in yesterday’s final at the CDETB SCC Sports Grounds in Terenure.

The one major difference between the sides saw Larkin take their chances, particularly Kamara who was a handful throughout for Kylemore’s back four, while Kylemore squandered numerous opportunities in front of goal.

In an action packed final Kamara opened the scoring with Larkin’s first real chance with an excellent goal following a strong run down the right from their striker with seven minutes played.

Kylemore didn’t panic and grew into the game getting their just reward when Jake Gorman’s shot was blocked and set up perfectly for James May whose super left footed strike from just inside the box curled into the net.


Kylemore’s confidence grew following their equaliser with further chances falling to Dayne Brennan, his free kick clipped the top of the crossbar, Korin Manning’s shot was saved by Larkin’s goalkeeper Asif Iqbal prior to Manning firing into the side netting from close range.

Having soaked up the pressure Larkin had back to back opportunities through Klaudiscz Nowakowski, his shot was saved by Kylemore’s goalkeeper Luke Kelly, and Ronald Krok who fired narrowly wide midway through the first half.

Iqbul pulled off two excellent saves from Brennan and May while Brennan’s free kick was cleared off the line by Larkin’s right back Kane Darcy. With half time approaching Kamara cut inside from the right beating the offside trap before calmly slotting home to give Larkin a 2-1 lead at the break.

Kylemore chased an equaliser with the majority of their attacking play and chances falling to Brennan, Manning, Eoin O’Donnell, May and their captain Dylan Withero. With a mixture of missed opportunities from open play combined with some great defending from Larkin’s Daryl Emmett, Alan Curtis and Darcy and good saves from Iqbul Kylemore grew understandbly frustrated.

With a couple of minutes left in the game and Kylemore still pressing for an equaliser Larkin caught their opponents on the break. Kamara chased Reegan’s long diagonal pass over the top, Kelly raced from his line his clearance ricocheted off Kamara and looped over Kelly’s head towards an open goal which Reegan followed up to seal an historic win for Larkin Community College.

Larkin Community College: Asif Iqbal, Kane Darcy, Devon Kennedy, Daryl Emmett, Alan Curtis, Cain Ledwidge, Jason Farrell, Klaudiscz Nowakowski, Tony Kamara, Keith Reegan, Ronald Krok. Subs Craig Cooney, Emmanuel Clement.

Kylemore College: Luke Kelly, Cian Fitzgerald, Dean Moore, Edward Filip, Jamie Fortune, Eoin O’Donnell, James May, Dylan Withero, Dayne Brennan, Korin Manning, Jake Gorman. Subs Said Glesson, David Ogbonna.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out