Home » News Reports » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Bohemian Shield Final – Wednesday 25th April, 2018

May 2, 2018 News Reports, Sports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Bohemian Shield Final – Wednesday 25th April, 2018


History was made when Larkin Community College captured a remarkable 10th consecutive Bohemian Shield with a hard fought 1-0 win against Kylemore College.

Larkin’s head coach Nigel Delaney spoke after his team’s victory in last Wednesday’s final at the SCC Sports Grounds in Terenure.

“Very proud of the boys to be able to continue the tradition of winning the Bohemian Shield, especially as the competition is getting harder with every passing year. The pride in the school is brilliant, they constantly rise to the challenge every year”.

With extra time looming Larkin substitute Chimezie Okwughai got on the end of a beautifully weighted through ball from Roland Krok before unleashing a low drive to the net.

It was a sucker punch for Kylemore who had gone toe to toe with the holders throughout an action packed game of football.

Kylemore, playing into a strong head wind in the first half, had a good opportunity after Aaron Corrish set up Matthew Rogers but the winger shot just wide of the right post.

Midway through the half Larkin’s Scott Hickey watched his free kick from 25 yards rise over the crossbar.

With both sides pressing the ball and solid defensive play from both back lines opportunities were kept to a minimal with the game deadlocked at half time.

Kylemore had a good spell of possession after the restart. Alex Rochford cut in from the right but Larkin’s goalkeeper Dario Esteves was quick off his line to smother Rochford’s shot.

Adam Maguire’s free kick into the danger area was cleared by Larkin’s Dylan Gremdon for a Kylemore corner which was subsequently mopped up by Okwughai for Larkin.

Larkin’s midfield playmaker Josh Dunne set up Kane Darcey however the striker’s effort flew over Jake Kelly’s crossbar.

The game looked destined to go to extra time before Okwughai’s late goal which left Kylemore chasing an up hill battle and try as they did time was not on their side.

Larkin’s trio of central defender Cain Ledwidge and strike partnership of Darcey and Krok all played important roles, having played in last year’s win over Kylemore, in seeing out the game.

Larkin Community College: Dario Esteves, Dylan Gremdon, Cain Ledwidge, Scott Hickey, Jamie Murtagh, Evan Burke, Josh Dunne, Emmanual Canga, Killian Ward, Kane Darcey, Roland Krok. Subs Chimezie Okwughai, Eric Martin, Ryan Byrne, Zach Caffrey.

Kylemore College: Jake Kelly, Dean Moore, Karl Carrick, Edward Filip, Quintan Doyle, Matthew Rogers, Adam Maguire, Cian Kelly, Daniel Ryan Farrell, Aaron Corrish, Alex Rochford.

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out