Home » News Reports » Recent Articles:

Report – CDETB SCC Cross Country Championships – Wednesday 15th November 2017

November 21, 2017 News Reports, Sports Comments Off on Report – CDETB SCC Cross Country Championships – Wednesday 15th November 2017



By Louise Browne

Athletes competed for top honours under the shadow of the Papal Cross at last week’s CDETB SCC Cross Country Championships in Phoenix Park.

Top individual performances of the meet saw the current Herald Schools’ Star of the Year winner Jessica Zui of Larkin Community College win the intermediate decider. Kylemore College’s Katie Mooney and Jacqueline Gorman celebrated a sweet double with back to back gold medals in the minor and junior finals respectively.

The boys’ competition also threw up some fascinating battles with Ringsend College’s Evan Harte (minor), Coláiste Eoin’s Jason Duddy (junior) and Sean Nolan of Coláiste Dhuláigh (intermediate) all topping the podium.

Out on the 1km course Zui ran a controlled race before making her move down the final stretch to cross the line ahead of last year’s intermediate winner Elizabeth Manning of Presentation College, Terenure; Manning’s colleague Suad Mooge finished third.

In the minor girls’ race Nevaeh Kenny of Clonturk Community College, closely followed by Mooney, broke away from the main bunch just past the half way mark. Mooney bided her time before overtaking Kenny 150 metres out from the finish line; third place went to Abbie Larkin of Ringsend College.

The junior contest saw Gorman and Holly Peters McGrath, Clonturk Community College go head to head again after both athletes contested last year’s minor final which Gorman narrowly won.

Gorman never looked in any real danger after breaking free from the leading runners’ midway through the race for a comfortable finish ahead of Peters McGrath who pipped Katie Hynes of Presentation College, Terenure for the runners up spot.

The senior girls 2km race was a race off between Inchicore College colleagues Louise Horgan and Martha Dunga. Both athletes ran pace for pace throughout the first lap and a half before Dunga fell off the pace leaving Horgan to celebrate her win after crossing the line.

The most nail biting finale of the day involved Coláiste Dhuláigh’s Sean Nolan and Darren Byrne and Kylemore College’s Calum Ennis and Brian Coombes in the 2km intermediate boys final.

Ennis led into the second lap holding the lead into the final 300 metres before Nolan, Byrne and Coombes upped the tempo of the race with Nolan passing Ennis, shortly followed by Byrne and Coombes.

With the finish line in sight all four runners where still in with a shout of winning the title. Nolan found a kick when it mattered to claim the gold medal, Coombes got the better of Byrne to take silver with Ennis narrowly losing out finishing behind Byrne.

Cross Country

Coláiste Eoin’s Jason Duddy was victorious on the back of an impressive run in the junior boys race. Emmanuel Canga, Larkin Community College finished second ahead of Coláiste Dhuláigh’s Josh Adamson.

The minor boys race attracted the largest amount of athletes with the trio of Evan Harte of Ringsend College, Nathan Brophy, St Kevin’s College and Sam Conroy, Clonturk Community College breaking from the main bunch of runners.

Harte made his move with 20 metres to go to win gold. Brophy held off Conroy to secure silver with Conroy taking home a well deserved bronze medal.

Coláiste Dhuláigh’s Darragh McAuley dominated the senior boys 3km final. McAuley stretched the field out in the opening two laps before pulling away in the final lap to take gold. Inchicore College’s Matthew Potts secured silver ahead of his college colleague Adam McNamee.

Cross Country Individual Results

Minor Girls Final

1. Katie Mooney – Kylemore College

2. Nevaeh Kenny – Clonturk Community College

3. Abbie Larkin – Ringsend Community College

Minor Boys Final

1. Evan Harte – Ringsend Community College

2. Nathan Brophy – St Kevin’s College

3. Sam Conroy – Clonturk Community College

Junior Girls Final

1. Jacqueline Gorman – Kylemore College

2. Holly Peters McGrath – Clonturk Community College

3. Katie Hynes – Presentation College, Terenure

Junior Boys Final

1. Jason Duddy – Coláiste Eoin

2. Emmanuel Canga – Larkin Community College

3. Josh Adamson – Coláiste Dhuláigh

Intermediate Girls Final

1. Jessica Zui – Larkin Community College

2. Elizabeth Manning – Presentation College, Terenure

3. Suad Mooge – Presentation College, Terenure

Intermediate Boys Final

1. Sean Nolan – Coláiste Dhuláigh

2. Brian Coombes – Kylemore College

3. Darren Byrne – Coláiste Dhuláigh

Senior Girls Final

1. Louise Horgan – Inchicore College

2. Martha Dunga – Inchicore College

Senior Boys Final

1. Darragh McAuley – Coláiste Dhuláigh

2. Matthew Potts – Inchicore College

3. Adam McNamee – Inchicore College

Cross Country Overall Schools Winners


1. Presentation College, Terenure

2. Larkin Community College

3. Clonturk Community College


1. Larkin Community College

2. Kylemore College

3. Cabra Community College

Subscribe to SCC

Posts Archive


Accessibility – Font Size

Zoom in Regular Zoom out